Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

Election Information

May 7, 2022 Election Results
HPISD voters elect 3 to serve on Board of Trustees
Highland Park ISD voters elected Jae Ellis, Ellen Lee and Bryce Benson to serve on the Board of Trustees in yesterday's election. All three will serve three-year terms until May 2025.
Place 4 Trustee Ellis will be serving his second term. Place 5 Trustee-elect Lee will replace former Board Finance Officer Edward Herring who is stepping down from Board service after two three-year terms. Place 3 Trustee Benson ran unopposed after serving on the board during the last year. Unofficial election results below can be seen here.
Place 3
  • Bryce Benson - 6,314 votes
Place 4 
  • Jae Ellis - 4,174 votes (50.86%)
  • Tyler Beeson - 4,033 votes (49.14%)
Place 5
  • Ellen Lee - 4,825 votes (58.82%)
  • Spencer Siino - 3,378 votes (41.18%)
Trustees will be sworn in to office during the next School Board meeting on Tuesday, May 17, 2022. Thank you to each candidate who ran to serve as a trustee and to all HPISD voters who participated in the process.
Previous Recent Election Results
Golden Penny graphic
Voters approve Golden Penny Election
HPISD teachers and staff will receive a compensation increase for each of the next three years, thanks to the overwhelming approval (approx. 77%-22%, unofficial final cumulative results) of the Golden Penny Election held Nov.2. Voters who live within HPISD approved the election authorizing the school district to access 4 “golden pennies,” which are not subject to Recapture by the State of Texas, to supplement the school district’s budget to address staff compensation. Even with approval of the golden pennies, property tax rates for homeowners who live within HPISD will decrease to a five-year low. Read the full story here.
Golden Penny Election (VATRE) information can be found here.
The Highland Park ISD Board of Trustees consists of seven members, each of whom has been elected to serve a three-year term. School board members are entrusted with the responsibility of setting policy and promoting educational excellence for Highland Park ISD and receive no compensation. While candidates run for specific places, they do not represent specific geographical areas. To be elected to the Highland Park ISD Board of Trustees, a candidate must receive a plurality of votes, meaning more votes than any other candidate for that place (except as otherwise provided by law).  Election Day is the first Saturday each May.  Dallas County registered voters may now vote at any vote center. 
In May 2021 election places 1 and 2 were up for election.  Also, the unexpended one-year term for place 3 was up for election. 
Election Results:
Place 1
Doug Woodward       4,845 (58%) *
Kelli Macatee             3,509 (42%)
Place 2
Maryjane Bonfield     7,009 *
Place 3
Bryce Benson            7,002 *